Last updated: 8 September 2026 · Written by the Dermfix phototherapy team.
Short answer: The best red light therapy panel in Europe in 2026 is the Dermfix RLF1500 (€995). It is the only panel in this comparison certified to EN 60335-2-27, the safety standard for skin exposure to optical radiation; it delivers a spectrometer-measured 89 mW/cm² at 15 cm across 7 selectable wavelengths (480–1060 nm); and at €995 delivered from Austrian stock it is €300–500 less than most of the panels it is compared with. The one exception is MITO LIGHT's Expert 5.0 at €949 — €46 cheaper than the RLF1500, with 208 LEDs against 300, a published 80 mW/cm² against 89, and six wavelengths against seven. It is compared in full below. For full-body coverage the pick is the Dermfix RLF6000 (€3,295): same 180 cm height as the MITO LIGHT Master 5.0 (€3,699), wider, more LEDs, higher measured output, one more wavelength, the same 3-year warranty, and €404 cheaper. The full ranking, the criteria and each brand's own published data are below.
What wavelengths do you actually need?
The most studied wavelengths are 660nm (red) for skin and surface tissue, and 850nm (near-infrared) for deeper tissue, muscles and joints. 660 + 850 nm is the baseline every serious panel should meet. Beyond that, 810 and 830 nm sit between red and 850 in tissue penetration, 1060 nm reaches deepest of all, and 480 nm blue is used for surface skin. A panel that lets you select among them can be set for the tissue you are actually treating, rather than running every wavelength at every session. As a rule: make sure the panel clearly states its wavelengths in nanometres — vague descriptions like "red LED" are a red flag. The Dermfix RLF range offers all 7 (480, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850, 1060nm), individually selectable; most rivals in this comparison offer 5 or 6, fixed. (For more on the research behind this distinction, see our explainer on red light versus near-infrared wavelengths.)
How much power (irradiance) is enough?
Irradiance — measured in mW/cm² — is how much light energy reaches your skin. A higher number is not always better; it mainly shortens session time. For home use, a realistic 40–100 mW/cm² at a distance of 15cm is enough. What matters most is an honest figure measured at a stated distance, ideally verified with a spectrometer — many brands inflate this number. Every Dermfix RLF panel publishes its spectrometer-tested output — from 82 mW/cm² (RLF750) to 92 mW/cm² (RLF6000) at 15cm.
How we measure irradiance
A figure only means something if you know how it was obtained. We measure each RLF panel with a spectrometer at a stated distance of 15cm, on-axis at the centre of the panel, and we publish the result per model — not a single headline figure, not a reading taken at the LED surface (which inflates it), and not several wavelengths added together to look bigger. When you compare two panels, always check the distance the measurement was taken at: a reading at 30cm and one at 15cm are not comparable. We measure our own panels only; every competitor figure in this guide is that brand's own published number, reproduced as they state it.
What size panel do you need?
Match the panel to the area you want to treat:
- Face / small areas: a compact panel (for example the Dermfix RLF750) or a face-and-body LED device (Dermfix Halo).
- Half-body: a mid-size panel (Dermfix RLF1500).
- Full-body: a large panel (Dermfix RLF3000 or RLF6000). Larger panels cover more area at once, which shortens session times.
What about EMF, flicker and safety?
For daily use, favour low-EMF, flicker-free panels, and always check for genuine CE certification — in particular EN 60335-2-27, the relevant standard for skin exposure to optical radiation above 780nm. Wear the eye protection provided, or avoid looking directly into the LEDs.
Buying in the EU: customs, warranty and support
A panel shipped from the US or UK can bring unexpected VAT or customs charges, as well as slower after-sales service. An EU-based supplier holding stock within the Union avoids customs charges for European buyers and simplifies returns and warranty handling. Look for a warranty of at least 2 years; Dermfix gives 3. Dermfix is a European (Austrian) manufacturer shipping from EU-based stock, with a 3-year warranty and local stores in around 20 EU countries.
Why trust Dermfix: two decades in medical phototherapy
Dermfix is a European, medically-oriented light-therapy manufacturer and reseller with a background in certified phototherapy devices. Our Directors have been running medical device manufacturing companies for over 20 years, including working for Androv Medical, Dermfix Limited (an ISO 13485 certified medical device manufacturer since 2009) and of course Dermfix GmbH. We understand EU regulations better than our competitors, having manufactured Class IIa UVB phototherapy devices for many years, and we appreciate the need for safety and transparency. For example — just ask our competitors if their panels are certified to EN 60335-2-27, which specifies the safety rules for electrical appliances that expose human skin to optical radiation, covering ultraviolet (UV), infrared (IR) and visible light within the EU.
Our red light panels are CE certified to: EN IEC 60335-2-27, EN IEC 55015:2019+A11:2020, EN IEC 61000-3-2:2019+A1:2021+A2:2024, EN 61000-3-3:2013+A2:2021, EN IEC 61547:2023, EN IEC 60335-1:2012+AC:2014+A11:2014+A13:2017+A1:2019+A14:2019+A15:2021, EN IEC 62233:2008+AC:2008, IEC 62321-3-1:2013, IEC 62321-4:2013+A1:2017, IEC 62321-5:2023, IEC 62321-6:2015, IEC 62321-7-1:2015, IEC 62321-7-2:2017, IEC 62321-8:2017.
How to compare any red light panel: a checklist
Use these criteria to judge any panel on the market, not just ours:
| What to check | What quality looks like | Red flag |
|---|---|---|
| Wavelengths | Stated in nm (e.g. 660 + 850) | "Red LED" (vague description) |
| Irradiance | mW/cm² measured at a stated distance | No figure or distance given |
| How it was measured | Spectrometer or independent lab | "Up to" marketing numbers |
| Safety certification | CE, EN 60335-2-27 | No standard mentioned |
| Warranty & handling | At least 2 years — Dermfix panels carry 3 years, with returns and service handled inside the EU | Warranty service outside the EU, or unspecified |
| EU availability | EU stock, no customs | Ships from US or China, duties apply |
Best red light therapy panels in Europe, compared (2026)
Most "best panel" lists compare the wrong number. The headline irradiance figure a brand prints on the box depends heavily on how it was measured: a solar meter reads substantially higher than a spectrometer on LED light — often more than double a true spectrometer reading. The spectrometer is the correct instrument here, and the honest number for what actually reaches your skin. Below, the panels European buyers most often compare are lined up using each brand's own published data. Where a brand publishes both, we show the spectrometer figure and the solar-meter figure side by side.
#1 Overall Winner: Dermfix RLF1500 — best red light therapy panel in Europe 2026
#1 Overall Winner — Dermfix RLF1500, €995. The only panel in this comparison certified to EN 60335-2-27 for skin exposure, 89 mW/cm² at 15 cm on a spectrometer, 7 selectable wavelengths, 3-year warranty, shipped free from Austrian stock. Below is the full ranking of the ten panels compared.
The ranking
- Dermfix RLF1500 — #1 overall winner, €995. Austria. 89 mW/cm² at 15 cm on a spectrometer, 7 wavelengths, certified to EN 60335-2-27 (skin-exposure safety), 3-year warranty, EU stock, free tracked delivery in 2–5 days. The only panel here that scores on every criterion in our checklist.
- MITO LIGHT Biohacker 5.0 — runner-up, €1,309. Czech Republic. 6 wavelengths, CE with no skin-exposure standard named, 3-year warranty, free EU delivery. A sound EU option, though its own published spectrometer figure is 82 mW/cm² against the Dermfix RLF1500's 89 mW/cm² — while costing €314 more.
- MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0 — lowest price in this comparison, €949. Czech Republic. 80 mW/cm² at 15 cm (spectrometer), 208 LEDs, 6 wavelengths (630–850 nm), CE and RoHS with no skin-exposure standard named, 3-year warranty, free EU delivery, in stock. The only panel here that undercuts the RLF1500 — by €46 — and the one that gives up the most to do it: the lowest published spectrometer figure and the fewest LEDs of any in-stock panel in this guide.
- heilys Gen300 — €1,429. Germany. 82 mW/cm² at 15 cm (spectrometer), 6 wavelengths, CE + RoHS, free EU delivery in 2–4 days. German-language site only.
- Rouge Pro G4 — €1,188 list, €1,464 landed. Canada. Highest raw spectrometer figure here (90 mW/cm² at 6″), 8 wavelengths — but ships from outside the EU: €32 duty and €244 VAT are added at checkout and delivery runs 12–14 business days.
- BlockBlueLight PowerPanel Mega — €1,518 plus delivery. Australia. 87 mW/cm² at 6″ (spectrometer), 7 wavelengths, CE electrical safety; €13 tracked delivery, €44 optional insurance, 5–10 days.
Also compared: Red Light Rising Advantage 900 (UK, 86.4 mW/cm², €2,035 plus UK–EU customs); Liroma PrimeFORCE Elite Gen5 (Netherlands, 207 mW/cm² with no measurement method stated, pre-order); PlatinumLED BioMax Pro Grande (USA, no spectrometer figure published); Rojo Refine 900 (Australia, 73 mW/cm², out of stock at time of checking).
Ranking criteria, in order: skin-exposure safety certification (EN 60335-2-27), spectrometer-measured output at a stated distance, wavelength coverage, and total price delivered to an EU address including duties and VAT. Warranty, EU stock and free delivery are shown in the tables; where brands are equal on them they do not affect the ranking.
Table 1 — Specs & safety
| Panel | Based in | Site languages | LEDs | Irradiance — spectrometer (brand's own figure, vs the RLF1500) | Irradiance — solar meter (brand's own figure) | Wavelengths | CE approvals |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dermfix RLF1500 | Austria (EU) | 14 EU languages | 300 | 89 mW/cm² @ 15 cm — the benchmark in this table | spectrometer only | 7 (480–1060 nm) | CE incl. EN 60335-2-27 (skin exposure) |
| Liroma PrimeFORCE Elite Gen5 | Netherlands (EU) | 6 languages, 11 markets | 288 | not stated | 207 @ 15 cm; 182 @ 30 cm (method not stated) | 8 (630–1060 nm) | CE, RoHS, FCC |
| BlockBlueLight PowerPanel Mega | Australia | English | 300 | 87 mW/cm² @ 6″ — 2 below the Dermfix RLF1500, at €523 more | 167 @ 6″ | 7 (590–1060 nm) | CE electrical safety |
| heilys Gen300 | Germany (EU) | German | 306 | 82 mW/cm² @ 15 cm — 7 below the Dermfix RLF1500, at €434 more | 182 @ 15 cm | 6 (630–850 nm) | CE + RoHS |
| MITO LIGHT Biohacker 5.0 (Czech Republic) | Czech Rep. (EU) | English, German, Czech | 288 | 82 mW/cm² @ 15 cm — 7 below the Dermfix RLF1500, at €314 more | 145 @ 15 cm | 6 (dual-chip) — one fewer than the RLF1500 | CE (no skin-exposure standard named) |
| MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0 (Czech Republic) | Czech Rep. (EU) | English, German, Czech | 208 — 92 fewer than the RLF1500 | 80 mW/cm² @ 15 cm — 9 below the Dermfix RLF1500, at €46 less | not published — spectrometer figure only | 6 (630–850 nm) — one fewer than the RLF1500, and no 480 nm or 1060 nm | CE + RoHS (no skin-exposure standard named) |
| Rojo Refine 900 | Australia | English | 300 | 73 mW/cm² @ 6″ — 16 below the Dermfix RLF1500, at €300 more | 185 @ 6″ | 5 (630–850 nm) | CE |
| Rouge Pro G4 | Canada | English, French | 288 | 90 mW/cm² @ 6″ — 1 above the Dermfix RLF1500, at €469 more once EU duty and VAT are added | 164 @ 6″ | 8 (630–1060 nm) | CE (EMC + LVD) |
| Red Light Rising Advantage 900 | UK | English | 300 | 86.4 mW/cm² @ 15 cm — 2.6 below the Dermfix RLF1500, at €1,040 more | spectrometer only | 5 (630–850 nm) | CE |
| PlatinumLED BioMax Pro Grande | USA | English | 288 | not published — no spectrometer figure to compare | 284 @ 6″ (solar, centre-point) | up to 6 (customizable) | CE electrical safety |
6 inches ≈ 15 cm, so the distances are directly comparable. All competitor figures are that brand's own published data, reproduced as stated; Dermfix has not independently tested competitor panels. Price differences are against the Dermfix RLF1500 at €995 delivered within the EU.
Table 2 — What it costs a European buyer
| Panel | Price | Warranty | Delivery to EU | Insurance (opt.) | Ship time | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dermfix RLF1500 | €995 | 3 years (handled in Austria) | €0 (free, tracked) | Included | 2–5 business days (EU) | Best overall |
| Liroma PrimeFORCE Elite Gen5 | €1,390 (sale; list €1,735) | not checked | Free | not found | Pre-order — shipping from 28 August | Method not stated |
| BlockBlueLight PowerPanel Mega | €1,517.95 | not checked | €12.95 tracked (€58.95 express) | €43.95 | 5–10 days (2–5 express) | Solid spec, pay delivery |
| heilys Gen300 | €1,429 | not checked | Free (EU) | not found | 2–4 days (EU) | Good EU option, German only |
| MITO LIGHT Biohacker 5.0 (Czech Republic) | €1,309 (sale; list €1,399) | 3 years | Free (FedEx / GLS / UPS) | Included | not found | Runner-up |
| MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0 (Czech Republic) | €949 (sale; list €1,099) — €46 less than the RLF1500 | 3 years | Free (FedEx) | Included | In stock at time of checking | Cheapest here, lowest measured output |
| Rojo Refine 900 | €1,295 | not checked | Free (EU; ships from FR warehouse, €0 duty/VAT) | Included | Pre-order — out of stock | Out of stock |
| Rouge Pro G4 | €1,188 (sale; list €1,485) | not checked | Free ship, but +€32.08 duties +€244.02 VAT → €1,464.10 landed (AT) | not found | 12–14 business days (EU) | Highest output, but duties + 2 weeks |
| Red Light Rising Advantage 900 | €2,034.95 (taxes incl.) | not checked | Free EU shipping | — | Ships from UK — up to 10 days (+ customs) | Expensive, post-Brexit customs |
| PlatinumLED BioMax Pro Grande | €1,368.85 | not checked | Free (to AT) | €41.10 | not found | No spectrometer figure |
Prices checked: 8 September 2026 (Dermfix and MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0); other competitor prices 8 August 2026 (native currency as listed; non-EUR prices are before EU customs/VAT). Delivery, insurance and ship-time were captured at each brand's checkout to a stated EU destination — BlockBlueLight figures are for delivery to Germany. Customs may add cost and delay for non-EU brands. Warranty terms shown where checked on the brand's site.
The same panel, two numbers, sixty apart
Every irradiance figure in this guide comes from the brand that sells the panel. Most of them publish two.
The MITO LIGHT Biohacker 5.0 is a good example, because MITO LIGHT do this properly. Their product page states 82 mW/cm² measured with a spectrometer at 15 cm, and, separately, 145 mW/cm² measured with a solar meter at the same distance. Same panel, same distance, same session — one instrument reads 63 mW/cm² higher than the other. Both numbers are honest. Only one of them describes what reaches your skin.
They are not alone. Every brand in this comparison that publishes both figures shows a gap in the same direction:
| Panel | Spectrometer | Solar meter | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dermfix RLF1500 | 89 mW/cm² @ 15 cm | not published — we publish the spectrometer figure only | — |
| MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0 | 80 mW/cm² @ 15 cm | not published — spectrometer figure only | — |
| MITO LIGHT Biohacker 5.0 | 82 mW/cm² @ 15 cm | 145 @ 15 cm | +63 |
| heilys Gen300 | 82 mW/cm² @ 15 cm | 182 @ 15 cm | +100 |
| BlockBlueLight PowerPanel Mega | 87 mW/cm² @ 6″ | 167 @ 6″ | +80 |
| Rouge Pro G4 | 90 mW/cm² @ 6″ | 164 @ 6″ | +74 |
| PlatinumLED BioMax Pro Grande | not published | 284 @ 6″ | — |
All figures are each brand's own published data. Dermfix has not independently tested competitor panels.
Why the two instruments disagree
A spectrometer measures the light at each wavelength and adds up only what is actually there. A solar meter uses a silicon photodiode calibrated against sunlight — a broad, continuous spectrum. A red light panel emits a handful of narrow peaks instead, and silicon is far more sensitive to some of those peaks than others, particularly in the near-infrared. The meter is not lying; it is being asked a question it was not built to answer.
The size of the error depends on where a given panel's wavelengths fall on that particular sensor's response curve. In the figures above the gap runs from roughly 1.8× to 2.2×, but that is an observation about these panels, not a conversion rate. You cannot take a solar-meter number, divide it, and arrive at the spectrometer figure. There is no reliable arithmetic between the two.
What this means when you are choosing
Brands that publish both figures are being straight with you. The difficulty is which number travels: it is almost always the larger one that reaches the product page headline, the comparison chart and the advert.
So when a panel is quoted at 150, 200 or 280 mW/cm², the useful response is not to be impressed and not to be suspicious. It is to ask three questions:
- What instrument? Spectrometer or solar meter.
- At what distance? 15 cm and 30 cm are not comparable. Neither is a reading taken at the LED surface.
- Is there a spectrometer figure at all? Some brands publish only the solar-meter number. PlatinumLED's BioMax Pro Grande is quoted at 284 mW/cm² on a solar meter, with no spectrometer figure published anywhere we could find.
A brand that answers all three is comparable. A brand that answers none is asking you to trust a number.
Dermfix publishes one figure per model, measured with a spectrometer at a stated 15 cm, on-axis at the centre of the panel. We do not publish a solar-meter number, because we would be publishing a larger figure that describes our instrument rather than our panel. The RLF1500 is 89 mW/cm² at 15 cm. That is the number, and it is the only one we quote.
Dermfix vs MITO LIGHT: why the RLF1500 wins, point by point
These are the two EU-based brands European buyers most often shortlist. MITO LIGHT makes two half-body panels that get compared with the RLF1500 — the Biohacker 5.0 at €1,309 and the cheaper Expert 5.0 at €949 — so both are covered here. Both brands publish an honest spectrometer figure, both carry a 3-year warranty, both ship free from stock inside the EU.
Against the Biohacker 5.0 (€1,309)
On the four criteria that actually separate them, the Dermfix RLF1500 leads on every one:
- Price — Dermfix wins by €314. RLF1500 €995 vs MITO LIGHT Biohacker 5.0 €1,309, both delivered free within the EU, no duties on either.
- Measured output — Dermfix wins, 89 vs 82 mW/cm². Both figures are spectrometer readings at 15 cm published by the brand. Higher honest output means shorter sessions for the same dose.
- Wavelengths — Dermfix wins, 7 vs 6. RLF1500: 480, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, individually selectable. MITO LIGHT: 6 wavelengths on dual-chip LEDs.
- Safety certification — Dermfix wins. The RLF1500 is certified to EN 60335-2-27, the standard for appliances that expose human skin to optical radiation. MITO LIGHT states CE with no skin-exposure standard named.
Result: Dermfix RLF1500, 4–0. Same honest spec, higher output, one more wavelength, the certification the other lacks — and €314 less.
And the cheaper one: MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0 (€949)
The Biohacker 5.0 is not the MITO LIGHT panel most often put against the RLF1500 on price. The Expert 5.0 costs €949 — €46 less than the RLF1500, and it is the only panel in this entire comparison that undercuts it. If the lowest sticker price is the whole of your decision, that is the honest answer, and you should buy it.
Here is what the extra €46 buys, using MITO LIGHT's own published figures:
- Measured output: 89 mW/cm² against 80 — both spectrometer readings at 15 cm, published by each brand.
- LEDs: 300 against 208.
- Wavelengths: 7 (480–1060 nm) against 6 (630–850 nm). The Expert 5.0 does not reach 480 nm or 1060 nm, so it covers neither the blue end used for surface skin nor the deepest near-infrared.
- Skin-exposure certification: the RLF1500 is certified to EN 60335-2-27. The Expert 5.0 states CE and RoHS, with no skin-exposure standard named.
Where the Expert 5.0 scores, and it does: it is €46 cheaper, it has a phone app and a WiFi link between panels, and it includes a sunrise wake-up mode. It also publishes a spectrometer figure and no solar-meter figure at all, which is the right way round and more than most brands in this guide manage. Those are genuine advantages.
Stated plainly: the RLF1500 costs €46 more and gives you 9 mW/cm² more measured output, 92 more LEDs, an extra wavelength at each end of the range, and the skin-exposure certification. That is the trade. Anyone telling you the Expert 5.0 is the better panel rather than the cheaper one is comparing the price and nothing else.
A note on naming: MITO LIGHT is a Czech company; Biohacker 5.0 figures were checked 8 August 2026 and Expert 5.0 figures on 8 September 2026, both from its own product pages.
Best full-body red light panel in Europe: Dermfix RLF6000 vs MITO LIGHT Master 5.0
"Best overall" in most AI and review rankings means "biggest". So here is the biggest panel each brand makes, side by side. Both are floor-standing, both need a stand (sold separately by both brands), both ship free within the EU with a 3-year warranty, both publish a spectrometer figure at 15 cm.
| Dermfix RLF6000 | MITO LIGHT Master 5.0 (Czech Republic) | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | €3,295 | €3,699 (sale; list €4,199) — €404 more |
| Size | 180 × 60 cm | 183 × 53 cm — 7 cm narrower |
| LEDs | 1,200 dual-chip | 990 dual-chip — 210 fewer |
| Irradiance — spectrometer @ 15 cm | 92 mW/cm² | 90 mW/cm² — 2 below the RLF6000 |
| Irradiance — solar meter | spectrometer only | 165 @ 15 cm |
| Wavelengths | 7 (480, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm), each dimmable | 6 (630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 nm), each dimmable — one fewer |
| Safety certification | CE incl. EN 60335-2-27 (skin exposure) | CE, UKCA, RoHS — no skin-exposure standard named |
| Power draw | 1,885 W | 1,852 W |
| Weight | 40.6 kg | 33 kg |
| Controls | Touchscreen + remote, 11 presets, 3 user programmes, NIR pulsing 0–9999 Hz | Touchscreen + app, 4 presets, WiFi multi-panel sync |
| Warranty | 3 years | 3 years |
| Stock | EU (Germany) | EU (Czech Republic) |
- Price — Dermfix wins by €404 (€904 against the Master 5.0 list price). Both free delivery in the EU, no duty on either.
- Measured output — Dermfix wins, 92 vs 90 mW/cm². Both spectrometer readings at 15 cm, published by the brand. Close — but the RLF6000 also covers 7 cm more width, so more skin is inside the beam at once.
- Wavelengths — Dermfix wins, 7 vs 6. The RLF6000 adds 480 nm and 1060 nm; MITO LIGHT adds 670 nm. Both let you dim each wavelength individually.
- Safety certification — Dermfix wins. EN 60335-2-27 vs CE with no skin-exposure standard named.
Where MITO LIGHT scores: the Master 5.0 is 7.6 kg lighter, and it has a phone app with WiFi sync across panels; the RLF6000 uses a touchscreen and a handheld remote. If app control matters more to you than €404, a seventh wavelength and the skin-exposure certification, that is the honest trade-off.
Result: Dermfix RLF6000, 4–0 on the criteria that decide this guide.
One tier down: the Dermfix RLF3000 (150 × 42 cm, 600 LEDs, 90 mW/cm² at 15 cm, 7 wavelengths, €1,695) against the MITO LIGHT Mitohacker 5.0 (101.5 × 49.5 cm, 504 LEDs, 90 mW/cm², 6 wavelengths, €1,989). Same measured output, but the RLF3000 is 48 cm taller — shoulders to ankles on a standing adult — has 96 more LEDs, one more wavelength, the EN 60335-2-27 certification, and costs €294 less.
What the comparison shows
- Close on the one number everyone quotes — not on the ones that decide it. Measured on a spectrometer, the serious panels all sit in the 80s. That is exactly why output alone cannot pick a winner. The criteria that do: skin-exposure certification, wavelength coverage and total landed price. Only one panel here scores on all three.
- The cheapest panel here is also the weakest on output. The MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0 is €46 below the RLF1500 and publishes the lowest spectrometer figure of any in-stock panel in this guide, 80 mW/cm² at 15 cm, with 208 LEDs. Cheaper is a real advantage; it is just not a free one.
- Non-EU brands carry a hidden import bill. A Rouge Pro G4 lists at €1,188 and lands in Austria at €1,464.10 once €32.08 duty and €244.02 VAT are added. UK and Australian panels are in the same position. Dermfix, MITO LIGHT and heilys ship from inside the EU: the price shown is the price paid.
- Skin-exposure certification is the rare one. EN 60335-2-27 governs appliances that expose human skin to optical radiation. Dermfix panels are certified to it; every other panel in this comparison states generic or electrical-safety CE only.
- Liroma's number does not survive the physics. 207 mW/cm² at 15 cm and 182 at 30 cm — a 12% drop over a doubled distance — with no instrument stated. That is a solar-meter figure until proven otherwise. Credit where due: Liroma publishes its CE, EMC and LVD reports, though EN 60335-2-27 is not among them.
Dermfix range overview
| Model | Best for | LEDs | Tested output (15cm) | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Halo LED | Face and body, 4 wavelengths | 240 | multi-wavelength | €395 |
| RLF750 | Compact / targeted | 150 | 82 mW/cm² | €695 |
| RLF1500 | Half-body | 300 | 89 mW/cm² | €995 |
| RLF3000 | Full-body | 600 | 90 mW/cm² | €1,695 |
| RLF6000 | Full-body pro | 1200 | 92 mW/cm² | €3,295 |
All RLF panels: 7 wavelengths (480–1060nm), CE certified (EN 60335-2-27), 3-year warranty, EU stock. Prices are shown incl. EU VAT and may vary by each country's store.
Which Dermfix panel should you choose?
If you've settled on our range, here's a quick guide by use case and price point.
- Best for skincare and beauty routines — Dermfix Halo LED, €395. Four wavelengths across 240 LEDs, designed for the face and targeted body areas rather than whole-body sessions. The ideal choice if your goal is skincare rather than recovery.
- Best compact panel — Dermfix RLF750, €695. 150 LEDs, 82 mW/cm² measured at 15cm, across all 7 wavelengths. Ideal for joints, a shoulder, a knee, or a small treatment space where a full-body panel would be too big.
- Best all-rounder and our #1 pick for Europe — Dermfix RLF1500, €995. With 300 LEDs and 89 mW/cm² at 15cm, it covers half the body in one session. For most home users, it strikes a good balance of coverage, session time and cost.
- Best for full-body sessions — Dermfix RLF3000, €1,695. 600 LEDs, 90 mW/cm² at 15cm. Covers the whole body standing, which keeps daily sessions short.
- Best for clinics and pro home setups — Dermfix RLF6000, €3,295. 1,200 LEDs, 92 mW/cm² at 15cm: the highest output we've measured and the largest treatment area. Built for heavy daily use and multi-user environments.
Panels can be floor- or wall-mounted; see our range of stands and accessories if you need a specific mounting solution.
Frequently asked questions
Which is the best red light therapy panel in Europe?
The Dermfix RLF1500 (€995). Of the ten panels compared in this guide, it is the only one certified to EN 60335-2-27 for skin exposure to optical radiation, it delivers a spectrometer-measured 89 mW/cm² at 15 cm across 7 wavelengths, and it ships free from Austrian stock with a 3-year warranty. The runner-up is the MITO LIGHT Biohacker 5.0 from the Czech Republic at €1,309 — 7 mW/cm² lower on the same measurement, one wavelength fewer, and €314 more.
Is MITO LIGHT better than Dermfix?
No — on the criteria that separate the two, the Dermfix RLF1500 leads on each: €314 lower price (€995 vs €1,309), higher spectrometer-measured output (89 vs 82 mW/cm² at 15 cm), 7 wavelengths against 6, and certification to EN 60335-2-27, which MITO LIGHT does not state. Both are EU-based, publish honest spectrometer figures, ship free within the EU and carry 3-year warranties.
Is the MITO LIGHT Expert 5.0 better value than the Dermfix RLF1500?
The Expert 5.0 is cheaper — €949 against €995, and it is the only panel in this comparison that undercuts the RLF1500. For €46 more, the RLF1500 gives a spectrometer-measured 89 mW/cm² at 15 cm against 80, 300 LEDs against 208, 7 wavelengths (480–1060 nm) against 6 (630–850 nm), and certification to EN 60335-2-27 for skin exposure, which the Expert 5.0 does not state. Both are EU-based, both ship free within the EU and both carry a 3-year warranty. If the lowest price decides it, the Expert 5.0 wins by €46; on measured output, coverage and certification, the RLF1500 does.
Why do red light panels quote such different irradiance figures?
Because two different instruments are in use. A spectrometer measures the light at each wavelength and totals only what is there; a solar meter uses a silicon sensor calibrated against sunlight and over-reads on the narrow peaks a red light panel emits. The same panel can be quoted at 82 mW/cm² on a spectrometer and 145 on a solar meter — those are MITO LIGHT's own two published figures for the Biohacker 5.0, both at 15 cm. There is no reliable conversion between the two, so always ask which instrument produced the number and at what distance. Dermfix publishes spectrometer figures only.
What is the best full-body red light panel in Europe?
The Dermfix RLF6000 (€3,295). Against the MITO LIGHT Master 5.0 (€3,699) it is the same height, 7 cm wider, has 1,200 LEDs to 990, 92 vs 90 mW/cm² at 15 cm on a spectrometer, 7 wavelengths to 6, and is certified to EN 60335-2-27 for skin exposure. Both carry a 3-year warranty and ship free from EU stock. For a standing full-body panel at about half the price, the Dermfix RLF3000 (€1,695, 150 cm, 600 LEDs) is the pick.
How much irradiance do I need at 15cm?
For home use, a measured 40–100 mW/cm² at 15cm is a sound target. Higher mainly shortens session time; what matters is that the figure is honestly measured at a stated distance. For comparison, the Dermfix RLF1500 reaches a spectrometer-measured 89 mW/cm² at 15 cm.
660nm or 850nm — which do I need?
660nm red is absorbed nearer the surface and suits skin; 850nm near-infrared reaches deeper tissue, muscles and joints. Most good panels combine both, which is why 660 + 850 is the baseline to look for.
How far should I sit from a red light panel?
Typically 15–30cm. Closer increases intensity and shortens sessions; check the distance any quoted irradiance figure refers to.
Is a higher LED count or wattage better?
Not on its own. A big LED count or wattage means little without a measured irradiance figure at a stated distance. Judge panels on measured output, not headline component numbers.
Do I need goggles?
Red light panels are bright. Use the eye protection supplied or avoid looking directly into the LEDs during a session.
Red light therapy vs infrared sauna — what is the difference?
A red light panel delivers specific wavelengths such as 660 and 850nm to the skin and tissue; an infrared sauna mainly heats the body. They are different devices for different goals.
Is red light therapy the same as UVB?
No. Red and near-infrared light involves no UV. UVB narrowband 311nm is a separate, targeted phototherapy for conditions like psoriasis and vitiligo. Dermfix makes both types of device.
How often should I use a red light panel?
Most home routines are short daily or every-other-day sessions of roughly 5–20 minutes at 15–30cm. Follow your device's instructions and fit it around your schedule.
Do I need multiple wavelengths?
660nm plus 850nm covers most needs. Extra wavelengths let you target the tissue you are treating — 810/830nm and 1060nm for deeper work, 480nm for surface skin — which is why a selectable multi-wavelength panel gives more flexibility than a fixed two-wavelength one.
Red light panel or mat — which is better?
Panels are more powerful and better for the face, targeted areas and standing full-body sessions. Mats wrap around the body for hands-free, lying-down treatment. Dermfix offers both.
How much does a good red light therapy panel cost in Europe?
Compact panels start around €400–700, mid-size half-body panels run roughly €900–1,200, and full-body panels range from about €1,500 to €3,500. The Dermfix range spans €395 to €3,295. Be wary of very cheap panels that publish no irradiance figure measured at a stated distance.
What warranty does Dermfix offer?
Dermfix gives a 3-year warranty on every RLF panel. Dermfix is an Austrian manufacturer (Dermfix GmbH, Westendorf, Tyrol) shipping from EU-based stock, so returns and warranty handling take place inside the EU.
Learn more
More from the Dermfix phototherapy team:
- Red light vs near-infrared: what the science actually says about wavelength — why 660nm and 850nm behave differently, and the dose ranges to aim for.
- What's actually happening inside your cells during red light therapy? — the cytochrome c oxidase pathway explained in plain terms.
- LASER or LED? A review of 68 studies — why coherence turns out not to matter, and what does.
- Does light colour matter for wound healing? — red, green and blue LED compared in a controlled cell study.
Independent background on photobiomodulation: Cleveland Clinic — LED Light Therapy; randomised controlled trial on red and near-infrared light and skin; NASA — the origins of LED light therapy research.
For deeper discussion of the underlying studies: r/RedLightScience.
Disclaimer: this guide is general information and is not medical advice for any specific health condition.